KEEP UP with
the latest news
Apply for


Media Contact: , Public Education Director, 303-426-8900

The Coca-Cola Foundation and The Fund Honor 46 Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship Winners

March 30, 2010

coke_web.jpgDenver, Colorado – The Coca Cola Foundation and the American Indian College Fund honored 46 American Indian scholarship recipients at its 2009-10 Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship banquet at the American Indian Higher Education Consortium Student Conference in Chandler, Arizona.

The Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship was established to provide $5,000 for tuition and fees and to fund unmet need for a student’s first year in college. If students maintain at least a 3.0 grade point average and show strong participation in campus and community life, the scholarship follows the student throughout their academic career while attending a tribal college. Kirk Glaze, the Community Affairs Manager of the Coca-Cola Foundation, was honored by Richard B. Williams, President and CEO of the American Indian College Fund, for the foundation’s support of American Indian education. Williams wrapped Glaze in a limited edition Pendleton blanket.


Jessie Bennett, the Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship recipient at the Institute of American Indian Arts, delivered a speech to her fellow students about the importance of education in her life. “Thank you for investing in not only my future, but the future of my children, community, and tribe,” Bennett said. “I will never forget the opportunity that I was given and I will do as much as I can to support others in their efforts to get a college education.”

The following Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship recipients were honored at the event:

  • Institute of American Indian Arts- Jessie Bennett
  • College of Menominee Nation- Ashley Bierman
  • Navajo Technical College- Alvina Brooks
  • Fort Belknap College- Joyce Cochran
  • Northwest Indian College- Eleanor Cole
  • Blackfeet Community College- Iva Croff
  • Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute- Lyle Etsitty
  • Northwest Indian College- Talia Graves
  • Lac Courte Oreilles Community College- Karl Habeck
  • Northwest Indian College- Raymond Hite
  • Little Priest Tribal College- Ashley Housman
  • Tohono O'odam Community- College Denise Aldrich
  • Fond du Lac Tribal and Community Colleg-e Isaac Maki
  • Little Priest Tribal Colleg-e Kumiko Masquat
  • Haskell Indian Nations University- Janice Mendez
  • Bay Mills Community College- Tammi Proulx
  • United Tribes Technical Colleg-e Andrew Russell
  • Dine College- Tanya Marie Sam
  • Fort Peck Community College- Heather J. Snell
  • Leech Lake Tribal College- Leila Northbird
  • Institute of American Indian Arts- Tyler Tarpalechee
  • Blackfeet Community College- Laura J. Whitford
  • Candeska Cikana Community College- Rochelle DeCoteau
  • Fort Berthold Community College- Clifford Mossett
  • Ilisagvik College- Aaron Milligrock
  • Keweena Bay Ojibwa Community College- Cindy Knapp
  • Little Big Horn College- Marilyn Blacksmith
  • Nebraska Indian Community College- Troy Munhofen
  • Oglala Lakota College- Tiffany Shortbull
  • Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College- Nicole McMullen
  • Salish Kootenai College- Shelley Schenderline
  • Sinte Gleska University- Mark Kimmel
  • Sisseton Wahpeton College- Sophia Renville
  • Sitting Bull College- Danielle Cadotte
  • Stone Child College- Louis Gardipee
  • Turtle Mountain Community College- Duane Poitra