KEEP UP with
the latest news
Apply for


Media Contact: , Public Education Director, 303-426-8900

Secretary of the Interior Appoints Board of Trustees for the Cobell Education Scholarship Fund

January 15, 2014

The Secretary of the Interior, Sally Jewell, announced today the selections of her appointees to the Board of Trustees for the Cobell Education scholarship fund. Dr. Jean O’Brien (Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, Mississippi Band of the White Earth Ojibwa) and Pamela Agoyo, (Kewa, Cochiti and Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo ancestry) will join Carla Fredericks (Three Affiliated Tribes of North Dakota), selected by the American Indian College Fund, Turk Cobell (Blackfeet) and Alex Pearl (Chickasaw Nation of Oklahoma), selected by the plaintiffs, to complete the five-member board to oversee the scholarship fund. According to the press release, “pursuant to the authorizing legislation, the Secretary chose her members after consulting with federally-recognized Indian tribes and considering the candidates they nominated. Board members will serve an initial term of four years and may be reappointed for an unlimited number of successive terms.”

Read the entire press release here: