KEEP UP with
the latest news
Apply for

Diné College Establishes Alumni Association

July 23, 2012

Diné College, located in Tsaile, Arizona, is pleased to announce the formation of its Alumni Association. The association will embark on its primary role to help promote the spirit of fellowship among Diné College graduates and past students to strengthen their relations with the college. The inaugural board members, who have strong ties to their alma mater, were announced at the commencement ceremony May 10, 2012.

Courtney James, from Lower Greasewood, is a 1992 Graduate of Diné College. Mrs. James has spent 12 years in Information Technology. Ten years of her professional experience were at Diné College.

Charles J. Coffey is a 2002 Diné College alumnus with an associate's degree in Diné Studies. Coffey previously earned a master's degree in business administration with an emphasis in computer information systems at National University in San Diego, California and a bachelor's degree in computer science with a minor in mathematics from the University of Oregon in Eugene in 1975. He has served at Diné College since 1994 in various capacities including faculty, chair of the Business Academic Division, and grant principle investigator. He currently teaches business and computer information systems classes.

Duane A. Hanley of Indian Wells, Arizona is currently a sixth grade teacher at Greasewood Springs, Arizona. Hanley is a 2011 graduate of Diné College with a bachelor’s degree in elementary education.

Annabell Bowen is of the Diné Nation and Seneca Nation. She is from Tuba City, Arizona and Jimersontown, New York on the Allegheny Seneca Reservation in western New York. Bowen earned her associate's degree from Diné College in 1996 and went on to Arizona State University (ASU) where she earned a bachelor's degree in history, a bachelor's degree in American Indian Studies and a master's degree in education in curriculum and instruction with a concentration in Indian education. She currently works as the coordinator for the ASU Office of Special Adviser to the President on American Indian Initiatives. In addition, she serves as the treasurer for the ASU Native American Alumni Chapter and co-adviser to the ASU Student American Indian Council.

Harrilene Yazzie is at 1992 graduate from Diné College. While attending the college on an archery scholarship, she also was the president of the American Indian Science and Engineering Society. After attending Diné College, she went on to the University of Fairbanks in Alaska and New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology in Socorro, New Mexico. She has been in the environmental field for the past 21 years working for non-profits and the tribal governments. Yazzie currently works for the Bureau of Indian Affairs as the Regional NEPA Coordinator.

“I’m extremely pleased to welcome our inaugural alumni association board members,” said President Maggie George. “I look forward to working closely with them.”

The Alumni Association works to engage alumni in the life of Diné College and its students, and to hearten lifelong connections among alumni and support of the college’s goals. Mr. Daryl R. Begay is the college’s contact person for the alumni association. He may be reached at

Founded in 1968, Diné College is a public institution of higher education chartered by the Navajo Nation. It is the first tribally controlled College. The college serves approximately 2,000 students each semester. The educational philosophy of Diné College is to apply the Sá'ah Naagháí Bik'eh Hózhóón principles to advance quality student learning through Nitsáhákees (Thinking), Nahatá (Planning), Iiná (Living) and Siih Hasin (Assuring).